Mellel documents not opening... with Tiger on iBook!

For all things Mellel

Moderators: Eyal Redler, redlers, Ori Redler

JFM
Got the auto-title mojo working

Mellel documents not opening... with Tiger on iBook!

Post by JFM »

I have been using Mellel as one of my word processors for the past three years. Always stable - until now.

Today, as I attempt to open Mellel documents on my iBook G4, running Tiger, version 10.4.11 (yes, latest version of Mellel, permissions repaired, running Onyx regularly), I am just unable to open any document: spinning wheel.

I am able to open Mellel, bot not to open existing documents from within Mellel. I can however create a new document. But once it is saved and closed, I am unable to reopen it.

Of course, I have attempted to repair permissions several times, to close all other applications, to shut my Mac, launch it again, start Mellel first before opening any other application (in case there is some conflicting application): to no avail.

Last week, I was still able to open Mellel. Once however, last week,I had the same problem, but restarting my Mac solved it: no longer this time.

Mellel works fine on my iMac G5 (running Tiger too) - and I can open without any problem on my iMac documents I am unable to open on my iBook.

Really, I am surprised: never expected something like that with Mellel. What do you suggest?
miles11
Knows everything, can prove it

Re: Mellel documents not opening... with Tiger on iBook!

Post by miles11 »

JFM wrote:I have attempted to repair permissions several times, to close all other applications, to shut my Mac, launch it again, start Mellel first before opening any other application...
I once had a similar problem with a different app. I had to open a Get Info window for one of the files in question, use the pull-down menu to set the app to use when opening that kind of file and, check the Ownership & Permissions settings— Read/write permissions (one of the settings is for No Access).