Footnotes in the right margin?

For all things Mellel

Moderators: Eyal Redler, redlers, Ori Redler

beck
New to all this

Footnotes in the right margin?

Post by beck »

I am a Mellel newbie, so please forgive if this question is a no brainer.

Can I tell Mellel to put footnotes in the right margin as opposed to the footer?

Here's a mock up of what I'm trying to accomplish. Thanks!

ealvarez
Knows everything, can prove it

Re: Footnotes in the right margin?

Post by ealvarez »

Have you tried working with sections? It might be a way to do it.
jannuss

Post by jannuss »

No, sections aren't an answer yo beck's request -- that will happen only once the Redlers implement flow-through [the chief improvement request many of us have for Sections].

Today, sections function only as columns: column 1 on page 1 flows to column 2 on page 1 and then to column 1 on page 2, column 2 on page 2, etc. [for a two-column set-up]

With the flow-through option: column 1 on page 1 flows to column 1 on page 2 while column 2 on page 1 flows to column 2 on page 2, etc.

Janet
Icelander

Post by Icelander »

Hello Beck,
Congratulations! You are the first member who has managed to send a screenshot in this forum! At least yours is the only one I have ever seen. It used to be generally accepted that it was not possible.

I asked a question regarding screenshots two years ago after having tried unsuccessfully to use the "Img" button. Back then I asked: "What's the "Img" button for if it can't be used?" This remained unanswered which seemed to indicate a general agreement on that this was not possible. In the meantime, perhaps the forum software has been improved… :oops:

As to your question, I don't think you can create a note stream and have it appear in the margin. The placement is restricted to: at the bottom of page, below text or end of document.