Mellel XML to transliterated English?

For all things Mellel

Moderators: Eyal Redler, redlers, Ori Redler

ecbrown
Got the styles thing figured out

Mellel XML to transliterated English?

Post by ecbrown »

Dear Mellel Forum Readers,

Yamim Noraim are here, and I would love to "translate" some of Davka's texts into transliterated English.

Being a Hebrew beginner, I am interested in making all sorts of siddurim, haggadot, etc. so that we can all participate comfortably. I often look at XeTeX, but I just can't get it set up.

I am addicted to Mellel in a big way. Does anyone have any creative thoughts on using the "XML format / XSLT stuff that I don't know about" to spit out transliterated English? I am inspired by Artscroll's siddur.

Best regards, Shana tova,

Eric
jannuss
Knows everything, can prove it

Post by jannuss »

Eric,

Two answers for you:

First, why re-invent the wheel? There are lots of transliterations available. Here are a few I got off Google [haven't checked any of them]

http://www.siddur.org/
ttp://www.utah.edu/hillel/siddur.htm
http://home.comcast.net/~judaism/Siddur ... uction.htm
etc., etc.

Second, I suspect that any simple one-to-one conversion [MEM+HIRIK = me, MEM+HOLAM = mo, and so on] will prove very unsatisfactory. You'd need a sophisticated translation program to do it properly.

What I suggest you do is get what you want from one of the sites above and modify it to meet your needs.

Finally, to answer the question you didn't ask: how best to organize things using Mellel?
The tendency is to use Columns [Sections], Hebrew in the right column, English in the left. Unfortunately, there are two problems here:
- there's no way yet to control the position of the column dividing line. Mellel will place it in the center of the page. Since Hebrew text is much more terse than English, this can be an issue.