Header collapses when edited

Feature requests, and in-depth discussions of features and the way Mellel works

Moderators: Eyal Redler, redlers, Ori Redler

kjmatthews
Knows everything, can prove it

Header collapses when edited

Post by kjmatthews »

I've been using Mellel for a couple of years now, and have never been able to figure this out. Nearly all of my page styles in all my style sets have a .5-in. margin between the top of the page and the header, and also define the header height as .5-in., so that body text begins a full 1 in. from the top of the page. I define the space before the header in Document Setup, and the height and default contents of the header in the Page style. When I open a new document, it looks something like this:

---[blank space]---
Default header text
---[blank space]---
Body text

The problem is that if I want to edit the default header text, the blank space below it collapses, and there is *no way to expand it again* short of hitting return a bunch of times to approximate the blank space that ought to be there, or clicking Layout > Page Style and re-selecting the page style I was using. Is this what it supposed to happen when you edit the contents of a header? It may be unusual to want to edit the contents of a header, but I can't understand why this would be a desirable effect.
ozean

Re: Header collapses when edited

Post by ozean »

I haven’t tried to reproduce this, but it sounds like a bug to me. I remember that there was a bug with the header that I encountered from time to time too. (It also made the header collapse, but only partly.) I do not remember an announcement that this bug was fixed in any of the prior releases. (Did you search the forums for keywords like header collapse bug … ?)