2 Separate Columns of Text

Feature requests, and in-depth discussions of features and the way Mellel works

Moderators: Eyal Redler, redlers, Ori Redler

rrnowell
New to all this

2 Separate Columns of Text

Post by rrnowell »

I am new to Mellel and a total neophyte. I am trying to create a 2 column document with separate streams of text in each column. An example would be a stream of text in the lefthand column like novel. The righthand column might have a commentary on the lefthand column. This would mean that for purposes of page flow, the would need to be a way to prevent orphans. THere would also need to be a way to tie text on the left to commentary about it in the righthand columnar stream of text. Can Mellel do this? Is there a way with Mellel to create 2 separate columns of text. I do not want the text from the lefthand column to flow on to the righthand column? If Mellel can't do this will it be able to in the future? If so how long before I would see this feature? Is there program that could do this now?
jannuss
Knows everything, can prove it

Re: 2 Separate Columns of Text

Post by jannuss »

rrnowell wrote:Can Mellel do this? Is there a way with Mellel to create 2 separate columns of text. I do not want the text from the lefthand column to flow on to the righthand column? If Mellel can't do this will it be able to in the future? If so how long before I would see this feature? Is there program that could do this now?
Short answer: no

Long answer:
-- use Sections option to create multiple columns on the page, but the left-most column will flow into the next and so on
-- use Tables to create something similar to columns with full control over the relative widths of the columns and the layout with text in column in line with text in another, but the cells in the table will not flow from one page to the next.

Columns of the type you describe is near the top of users' wish list for Mellel 3.0