F3 keyboard shortcut not working

For all things Mellel

Moderators: Eyal Redler, redlers, Ori Redler

shades
Knows everything, can prove it

F3 keyboard shortcut not working

Post by shades »

I have been using Mellel for 10+ years and never had this problem until the last few months (I was in the hospital and couldn't do much for two months).

Anyway, I had consistently used Mellel on desktop and laptop, with F1 as Normal, F2 for Bold, F3 for Italic. For the past several months, the F3 does not produce any change in the font. I tried assigning that shortcut in System Preferences > Keyboard shortcuts. Doesn't work.

Then I thought maybe the keyboard was going bad. I used another keyboard from a backup computer, and still no change. The F3 key does not make any change in the font.

Can you help me resolve this? I have several F-keys assigned for special shortcuts that I often use in Mellel.
Rich
old, slow, and confused...but at least I’m inconsistent!

iMac 27" (10. 13. 8 ) and MBP 13" Retina (10. 13. 8 )
Icelander

Re: F3 keyboard shortcut not working

Post by Icelander »

Hello Rich,

I guess you are using a font that has no italic. An example for such a font is Lucida Grade.

Unlike Nisus, which activates or produces a "fake" italic by such fonts, Mellel doesn't do this.

Change the font to Times (or any other font with genuine italic) and see if that solves the problem.
shades

Re: F3 keyboard shortcut not working (solved)

Post by shades »

Thanks. That did not help, I tried 8-10 other fonts. However, I then began looking at the character set dialog. And the Bold and Italic Style Variations were not set. So I changed the variant "Italic" to be Italic and "bold" to be "bold" using Gentium Book Basic. Now everything works as expected. Thanks for giving me a hint on looking for clues. Interestingly, I have used Mellel for 10+ years and never had this problem with Style Variations.
Rich
old, slow, and confused...but at least I’m inconsistent!