Is there an easier way to crossreference a figure?

For all things Mellel

Moderators: Eyal Redler, redlers, Ori Redler

overdue
New to all this

Is there an easier way to crossreference a figure?

Post by overdue »

I'm fairly new to Mellel, so bear with me...

I'm writing technical documents and often refer to figure captions from the text. Every time I want to add something like "...see figure N..." where "N" is a crossreference to a figure caption, I have to do:

Insert -> cross reference -> insert reference...
then in the dialog box:

- select auto-titles
- find the caption (would be nice to have the captions in their own list, btw, since they can be hard to locate)
- delete the "Page#" element in the bottom box
- select "Auto-title current level number" in the Elements dropdown
- click "OK"

I'm thinking there must be an easier way that I've missed. Some way of storing this setup somehow.

If not, I'll try to fix up a macro in KeyboardMaestro, but thought I'd ask here first.
Icelander
Knows everything, can prove it

Re: Is there an easier way to crossreference a figure?

Post by Icelander »

Instead of Insert -> cross reference -> insert reference..., you can also just click on the Reference toolbar button.

If I understand you correctly, you want to write, for example:
See figure 1 on page 14.
Every time I […] have to do:
Insert -> cross reference -> insert reference...
then in the dialog box:

- select auto-titles
- find the caption (would be nice to have the captions in their own list, btw, since they can be hard to locate)