Any replacement for SC that will work with Mellel?

Feature requests, and in-depth discussions of features and the way Mellel works

Moderators: Eyal Redler, redlers, Ori Redler

macsailor
Knows everything, can prove it

Any replacement for SC that will work with Mellel?

Post by macsailor »

I have been using SpellCatcher for last nine years, but since I replaced my old MBP with a new MBP and then automaticly switching from Lion to Mountain Lion, Spell Catcher has not been working properly. Since the creator of Spellcatcher, the late Evan Michael Gross unfortunally passed away last summer, I believe there will be no new updates at all.
Has anyone been using some other similar software that will work with Mellel and ML? I have downloaded TypeIt4Me, DashExpander, TextExpander and Typinator. So far all of them seems to be working as they are supposed to work.

I used Spell Catcher mainly for two different purposes, first as an abbreviation expander and secondly as a spell checker. Most of the time my spelling are exellent, but sometimes my fingers and my brain do no cooperate properly leaving me with some words always misspelled, or should I say the letters not in the right order.
Are there any apps good enough to replace the now more or less abonded Spell Catcher? Any other suggestions than the apps I mentioned above, that could be worth trying?

This matter is of great importance to me, especially since Mellel does not have any similar feature, nor does the MacOSX, I am in great need of a replacement of the great tool I had in Spell Catcher.
Peter Edwardsson
Truth is not always popular, but it is always right.
shades

Re: Any replacement for SC that will work with Mellel?

Post by shades »

I have been having this problem since Mountain Lion came out (see another thread on this topic). SC works so well and is part of our daily work in all other apps, but not Mellel. It is frustrating.

Unfortunately I have not found a comparable replacement.
Rich