Shortcut to insert note

Feature requests, and in-depth discussions of features and the way Mellel works

Moderators: Eyal Redler, redlers, Ori Redler

david wootton
New to all this

Shortcut to insert note

Post by david wootton »

As an academic author I write texts with numerous notes, and I would really like to be able to "insert note" with a single keystroke. But it seems I can't do this with a shortcut [I've tried!] because, I assume, "[insert] note" is not a main menu item but a sub-menu item. So I either have to go Insert - Note - note or from the toolbar go Footnote - note. And this means I have to clutter up my screen with menus or toolbars. If there is an elegant way round this I'd be delighted if it could be implemented! Or if I have missed an existing way of doing this do let me know! David
Icelander
Knows everything, can prove it

Re: Shortcut to insert note

Post by Icelander »

There are two alternative ways:
1. Use the predefined shortcuts that come with Mellel by going to

a) Insert > Note > Edit note attributes… and
b) click on the shortcuts to select one from the upcoming list or select "-" to chose none.

https://www.mediafire.com/view/ne56o2d1 ... e.png/file

2. Use System Preferences > Keyboard > Shortcuts > App Shortcuts to create your own shortcuts. Shortcuts created here override the predefined ones.
david wootton
New to all this

Post by david wootton »

Thank you -- the first option had escaped me and works fine. The second option I had tried and for some reason it didn't work (though I am pretty sure it did work with a previous version of Mellel on an earlier Mac OS). Your help is much appreciated!
Icelander

Post by Icelander »

The second option requires that you type the command exactly as it appears in the Mellel menu, for example, "Footnote" and not "Footnotes".